New Year 2013 …

…the Best Year Ever!

Everyone around the world seems to be making a New Year’s resolution list.

Find and use a magic wand

I would love to. Then I realized that what I wanted to have as resolutions involved resolutions I wanted to see the natives I preside over adopt. That list might look like this (not necessarily in this order):

  • Read more
  • Eat less junk (and NOT in the living room)
  • Listen to parents the FIRST time
  • Locate and USE a laundry basket for dirty laundry (especially socks)
  • Use respectful language (at least when in the earshot of the rest of us)
  • Watch TV only as a last resort (NO it is NOT as essential as breathing)
  • Make a mess of something….clean it up.
  • Spend more time in physical pursuits (even if only housework)
  • And for some that are of age…get a job!

Then after indulging myself in the notion that any of the inmates here might adopt any of these suggestions I come back to reality with a thud. Nah…it likely won’t happen. A few of the kids may make a few resolutions with the result that a few things may temporarily change for the better the week after New Years (or not)…and then forget it for the rest of the year.

The Garden Goat looking forward to the Best Year ever 2013!

Living with the gang I do here are some resolutions I SHOULD make:

  • Drink alcohol more often
  • Get sound proof headphones or turn the music up louder when the natives are squabbling
  • Better understanding that prescription medication is underrated and copious amounts should be further investigated (immediately)
  • Get better at appearing to be napping when my name is being hollered
  • Don’t be too quick to get out of bed…some days would be better if they just did not happen
  • When overwhelmed declare “Bedtime” even if the afternoon school bus has yet to arrive home
  • Work on perfecting “distracted” to better facilitate desired state of “denial”
  • Find and  then use a magic wand (or find a way to  let the kids think I have one that works)

This would be a great list if only I could remember what I was to be doing moment to moment. The only thing I really remember is the washing machine and when it is time to change over the load. I totally forget the rest as life races past in a blur. I kid you not…so far this week I have boiled 3 pots completely dry attempting to boil water for tea. I got distracted…somehow. I think the solution may be to switch to coffee and add Baileys!

In all seriousness I guess the only thing I can do is to change me.

So I BELIEVE that 2013 is going to be my best year ever.

Believe 2013

Everything will work out. I will work on me to live my best life ever. With that I hope to again see special friends I care about, get into better shape …oh and hopefully make a million dollars (for real). I need to try to drink less diet coke (did I write that? I think I meant put MORE rum in it) probably eat more chocolate (yes…go BACK to the gym and face the TREADMILL [link takes you to previous post on that]) drink more (yes I know what you are thinking but NO) water.  I will find the time to pray and read more. Another year yawns ahead of this goat and her journey over life’s mountains and molehills in 2013.

I hope all of you have a wonderful New Years and that 2013 is a memorable year for you and your family packed with an abundance of blessings.

The Garden Goat looking forward to the Best Year ever 2013!

Happy New Year 2013 from the Garden Goat

7 thoughts on “New Year 2013 …

  1. I wish you Gardengoat and your family all the very best for 2013, I am sure it WILL be your very best year ever.
    Regards
    Alan from Scotland

    • Hi Alan,

      Thanks for your kind wishes and for your belief in my best year ever!

      May the year 2013 be filled with great blessings for both you and your family!

      Here is to a fantastic 2013!

      Cheers,
      The Garden Goat 8-)

      • Thank you Garden Goat, my daughter had a baby girl on 12-20-2012 and my daughter in law is expecting a baby in May this year, that is something to look forward to

        Cheers
        Alan

      • New babies are such a blessing. Congratulations and thanks for sharing the news about the kids (little goats)-
        You will have a wonderful year I am sure!

        Cheers,
        The Garden Goat 8-)

  2. Pingback: Make One Million Dollars in 2013? Easy! |

  3. I haven’t made time for visiting your blog in a bit, but now that I’m back I can see I’m going to have to resolve to come more often, as I really love your blog!
    I’m also passing an award on to you! It’s the Inspiring Blogger Award, and you can find the details on my blog tomorrow (Sunday).
    Have a great weekend!

    • Hi Anne,

      Thank you for nominating The Garden Goat for the Inspiring Blogger award…I am honoured. I will be checking out the details of what I need to do. Thanks for your kind words.
      The Garden Goat 8-)

Leave a Reply

